Polaris Music Prize Reveals Its 2009 Short List

Polaris Music Prize Reveals Its 2009 Short List
If you've been following the Polaris Music Prize this year, you've likely had today prominently marked on your calender. After all, today is the day when the hotly anticipated short list of nominees was due to be announced. Well, the folks at Polaris have stuck to their word.

At a press conference in Toronto today, founder and executive director of the Polaris Music Prize, Steve Jordan, revealed the short list of the ten Canadian albums eligible for the fourth annual $20,000 award, and here it is in non-biased, alphabetical order:

Elliott Brood - Mountain Meadows
Fucked Up - The Chemistry Of Common Life
Great Lake Swimmers - Lost Channels
Hey Rosetta! - Into Your Lungs (and Around in Your Heart and on Through Your Blood)
K'naan - Troubadour
Malajube - Labyrinthes
Metric - Fantasies
Joel Plaskett - Three
Chad VanGaalen - Soft Airplane
Patrick Watson - Wooden Arms

The list comes from a previous long list of 40 nominees, which was chosen by an independent jury of nearly 200 Canadian music journalists, broadcasters and bloggers from across Canada, and included albums by the likes of Pink Mountaintops, Junior Boys, Tim Hecker and Japandroids.

While speaking of the freshly announced short list, Jordan said, "If there's a common thread to these records it's that each artist built on previous successes by pushing themselves into even riskier artistic dimensions. Listeners will find the jury picked quite an ambitious crop this year. This is exactly the kind of artistry that Polaris aims to support."

And not to pat ourselves on the back here or anything but another common thread with this short list is that five out the ten nominees - Elliott Brood, Fucked Up, K'naan, Malajube and Chad VanGaalen - all graced Exclaim!'s cover over the last 12 months.

As for the final Polaris Music Prize winner, that artist will be chosen and announced by a specially selected 11-member jury at an invite-only gala at the Masonic Temple in Toronto on September 21. Along with a live broadcast on Sirius Satellite Radio channel 86, the show will be webcast live on the MuchMusic website and also be produced for broadcast by MuchMusic. That broadcast date will be announced shortly.

If you're into a bit of Polaris fun, Exclaim! is now running a contest where you can have a guess at which album will win this year's Polaris Music Prize. To enter, all you need to do is click here, and then write who you think will come out on top. Of the entrants who guess correctly, one will be randomly drawn to receive a series of beautiful hand-screened, limited-edition poster prints that are made specially for each nominee and CDs of each of the short-listed albums. Deadline for entries is September 21 at 10 p.m.