Plants and Animals Return with 'Waltzed in from the Rumbling'

Plants and Animals Return with 'Waltzed in from the Rumbling'
The evolution of Plants and Animals continues, with news arriving that the Montreal indie rock outfit are due to release their first full-length in four years. Titled Waltzed in from the Rumbling, the band's next album is set to come waltzing out of speakers April 29 via Secret City Records.

A press release notes that band members begun families of their own following the release of their 2012 set, The End of That, and chose to take their time to make the follow-up. With no time constraints, the group apparently prepped a wide-ranging collection full of "symphonic crescendos, lyrical balladry, and metamorphic song developments."

"It was more like an art studio than a recording studio," vocalist Warren Spicer said in a statement of the conditions behind making Waltzed in from the Rumbling . "A mess, pieces of songs all over the place. We had this big canvas and were constantly filling in corners here, erasing there, repainting that part, standing back and looking at the whole picture to see what we had."

Sonically, the record is said to have been inspired by everything from Serge Gainsbourg, to J Dilla, to Twin Peaks composer Angelo Badalamenti. Contained within, apparently, are touches of folk, rock, funk and more cinematic work.

To tease the set, Plants and Animals are streaming new single "Stay." You'll find the song below, where you'll also find a tracklisting for Waltzed in from the Rumbling.

Waltzed in from the Rumbling:

1. We Were One
2. No Worries Gonna Find Us
3. Fata Morgana
4. Stay
5. All Of The Time
6. So Many Nights
7. Flowers
8. Je voulais te dire
9. Off The Water
10 Johnny Is A Drummer
11. Pure Heart