Pelican Return With 'Ataraxia/Taraxis'

Pelican Return With 'Ataraxia/Taraxis'
The last we heard from proggy post-rock unit Pelican, the quartet were celebrating their ten-year anniversary withcareer-spanning box sets and band-related beers, but Pelican is looking forward once again with their new EP Ataraxia/Taraxis.

According to a press sheet, the four-song effort, which Southern Lord issues on April 10, follows 2009's What We All Come To Need, and finds the troupe further evolving. With the once-Chicago-based brotherhood now spread across the U.S., the recording sessions similarly bounced from city to city, with various sound engineers manning the boards, including Sanford Parker (Twilight, Circle of Animals, Nachtmystium) and Aaron Harris (ISIS).

While only four songs long, the EP is alleged to feature an "epic feel worthy of a full album," and finds the act bouncing "into moments of triumphant melodic rock, smokey doom, ambient soundscape, acoustic desert-folk, and minimalist electronics." You can check the tracklisting below.

A North American tour has yet to be scheduled, but Pelican will be soaring overseas for a two-week run in Europe in April. You can check out those dates here.


1. "Ataraxia"
2. "Lathe Biosas"
3. "Parasite Colony"
4. "Taraxis"