Peaking Lights Ink Deal with Mexican Summer for 'Lucifer'

Peaking Lights Ink Deal with Mexican Summer for 'Lucifer'
Husband-and-wife electronic duo Peaking Lights have issued two LPs since 2009, and the dub- and Krautrock-inspired act will deliver yet another minimalist effort titled Lucifer for their new label home Mexican Summer later this spring.

Aaron Coyes and Indra Dunis's upcoming eight-song follow-up to 2011's 936 will hit retailers on June 19. The collection is still said to mine the group's musical preferences -- "dub, Krautrock, analog electronic dance music, sound collages, pop music" -- but the set also took inspiration from the birth of Coyes and Dunis's son Makko. Apparently, their child's arrival filled the pair with good vibes.

"To us this record is about play and playfulness, unconditional love, rhythms and pulses, creation and vibration," Coyes said in a statement.

Lucifer was self-produced at Brooklyn's Gary's Electric Studio over the course of a month, and was engineered by Al Carlson (Yeasayer, Ford & Lopatin, Oneohtrix Point Never). While it's said to be slinkier than their older material, proper song samples from Lucifer have yet to be delivered.

You can, however, catch snippets of the disc, as well as old disco cuts like Eastbound Expressway's "Never Let Go," in a new digital mixtape called Lucifer Mixtape 1, which you can stream below.


1. Moonrise

2. Beautiful Son

3. Live Love

4. Cosmic Tides

5. Midnight (in the Valley of Shadows)

6. LO HI

7. Dream Beat

8. Morning Star