Patti Smith Unveils Career-Spanning Compilation

Patti Smith Unveils Career-Spanning Compilation
Lately, Patti Smith has been grabbing a lot of attention for her non-musical endeavours, which have included winning a prestigious book prize for the memoir Just Kids and guesting on Law & Order: Criminal Intent. Now, the legendary punk poet is gearing up for a compilation that a press release calls a "perfect entry point" for new fans.

Entitled Outside Society, the release is due out August 23 through Columbia/Arista/Legacy. It spans the years 1975 to 2007, and these 18 songs comprise "the first single-CD collection to span Patti's entire body of recorded work." It's also available as a double-LP set.

The album with come packaged with a booklet that contains "brief recollections of each song written by Patti, who personally supervised the choices." This includes classic original material, plus her cover of "Smells Like Teen Spirit." See her choices in the tracklist below.

Outside Society:

1. "Gloria"
2. "Free Money"
3. "Ain't It Strange"
4. "Pissing in a River"
5. "Because the Night"
6. "Rock N Roll Nigger"
7. "Dancing Barefoot"
8. "Frederick"
9. "So You Want to Be a Rock N Roll Star"
10. "People Have the Power"
11. "Up There Down There"
12. "Beneath the Southern Cross"
13. "Summer Cannibals"
14. "1959"
15. "Glitter in Their Eyes"
16. "Lo and Beholden (Radio Edit)"
17. "Smells Like Teen Spirit"
18. "Trampin'"