Parts & Labor's Dan Friel Announces 'Total Folklore'

Parts & Labor's Dan Friel Announces 'Total Folklore'
Considering experimental noise pop combo Parts & Labor announced in 2011 that they were going on indefinite hiatus, band member Dan Friel has had a lot of time to focus on his solo work. Earlier this year, he put out his "Valedictorian" / "Exoskeleton" EP, and now the musician has delivered details on his next full-length, Total Folklore.

Thrill Jockey will release the 12-song set February 19, and the LP is the proper follow-up to 2008's Ghost Town, which we called "utterly cosmic" in our review.

While much of the album was made at home using "an arsenal of thriftstore pedals and noisemakers," the press sheet says that many of the sounds found on Total Folklore were captured by Friel on his phone, "from the sound of kids playing basketball in Brooklyn to the sound of a Con Edison strike in Manhattan, to the sound of the inside of a pachinko parlor in Tokyo."

The album is said to skitter between harsh noise and pure pop, and finds Friel bouncing between epic tracks like the 12-minute, arpeggio-driven opener "Ulysses" to short improvisations. You can catch the tracklisting, as well as an edit of "Ulysses." down below.

Total Folklore:

1. Ulysses
2. Windmills
3. Valedictorian
4. Intermission #1
5. Velocipede
6. Scavengers
7. Intermission #2
8. Thumper
9. Landslide
10. Intermission #3
11. Swarm
12. Badlands