The Pack A.D., Imaginary Cities, Brasstronaut, We Are the City Nominated for Western Canadian Music Awards

The Pack A.D., Imaginary Cities, Brasstronaut, We Are the City Nominated for Western Canadian Music Awards
In 2010, Dan Mangan cleaned house at the Western Canadian Music Awards. Well, the husky-voiced Vancouver folksinger didn't release an album this year, which is good news for other hopeful Canuck artists. This year's award ceremony is slated for October 23 in Whitehorse, YT, and the organizers have just announced the nominees.

There are a total of 19 music categories, plus nine more for industry professionals (producers, managers, venues, labels, etc.). Among the artists up for multiple awards are David Vertesi, Romi Mayes, We Are the City, Rah Rah, Chic Gamine, Jordan Cook and Del Barber.

Other nominees that may be familiar to Exclaim! readers include the Pack A.D., Brasstronaut, Fond of Tigers, the Salteens, Steve Dawson, Jim Byrnes, Imaginary Cities, Jon and Roy, the Wailin' Jennys and Shuyler Jansen.

Download a PDF with the full list of nominees here or check out the music categories below.

The awards ceremony takes place at Whitehorse's Yukon Arts Centre. As usual, the Western Canadian Music Awards come as part of BreakOut West, an annual festival and conference. This year's event runs from October 20 to 23.

The BreakOut West website promises that ticket information will be available soon. The organizers recently announced that Regina, SK, will be the host city for the 2012 event.

2011 Western Canadian Music Award Nominees:

Blues Recording of the Year
Bill Johnson - Still Blue
Brent Parkin - Vintage Rhythm
Jim Byrnes - Everywhere West
Kat Danser - Passin'-A-Time
Little Miss Higgins - Across The Plains

Children's Recording of the Year
Bobs & LoLo - Connecting the Dots
Music with Marnie - Super Kids
Salteens - Kid Songs
The Kerplunks - Number 3
Will Stroet - Walk 'n' Roll

Contemporary Christian/Gospel Recording of the Year
Cities Under Fire - Lukewarm Love
Dan Bremnes - Your Strength
High Valley - High Valley
Jaylene Johnson – Happiness
The Sojourners - The Sojourners

Classical Composition of the Year
David McIntyre - Sonata for Violin and Piano "Sprints"
Diana McIntosh - Uhuru Kamili
Elizabeth Raum - Sonata for Violin and Piano
Jeffrey Ryan - Angeline on Ossabaw
Marcus Goddard - Allaqi
Peter Hannan - Rethink Forever
Robert Turner - Suite for Harp

Classical Recording of the Year
Diana McIntosh - Pinnacles
Ensemble Resonance - Electrospectives
Erika Raum and David Moroz - From the Heartland
Peter Hannan - Rethink Forever
Rachel Kiyo Iwaasa – Cosmophony

Country Recording of the Year
Aaron Pritchett - In The Driver's Seat
gomie - You Are Here
Gord Bamford - Day Job
Hey Romeo - That's What I Am
High Valley - High Valley
Ridley Bent - Rabbit On My Wheel

Instrumental Recording of the Year

Dave Babcock and his Jump Orchestra - Jump To It
Five Alarm Funk - Anything is Possible
Fond of Tigers - Continent & Western
Karrnnel & Koulack - Fiddle & Banjo
Richard Moody – Woodcuts

Jazz Recording of the Year
Karl Schwonik Jazz Ensemble - 1+4
Michelle Grégoire - Diversity
Night Crawlers with The Big Band Sound - Down In The Bottom
Peter Belec - Melodic Miner
Tyler Hornby - A Road To Remember

Pop Recording of the Year
Ash Koley – Inventions
David Vertesi – Cardiography
Imaginary Cities - Temporary Resident
Stef Lang - The Underdog
The Liptonians - Let's All March Back Into the Sea

Urban Recording of the Year
Absofunkinlutely - Blues Kid City
BJ Block and Dawn Pemberton - The Land of Make Believe
Chantel Upshaw - I Feel Like a Lady
MANUELA - A Different Kind of Fire
Souljah Fyah - I Wish

Rap/Hip-Hop Recording of the Year
Evil Ebenezer - Evil Eye
Pigeon Hole - Age Like Astronauts
SonReal - Where's Waldo?
Sweatshop Union - The Bill Murray EP
The Happy Unfortunate - No Time To Sleep

Rock Recording of the Year

Brasstronaut - Mount Chimaera
Jordan Cook - Seven Deadly Sins
Rah Rah - Breaking Hearts
The Pack a.d. - We Kill Computers
The Sheepdogs - Learn & Burn
We Are The City - High School
Wool on Wolves - Grey Matter

Roots Duo/Group Recording of the Year
Chic Gamine - City City
Fish & Bird - Every Whisper Is A Shout Across The Void
Jon and Roy – Homes
Shuyler Jansen - Voice from the Lake
The Wailin' Jennys - Bright Morning Stars

Roots Solo Recording of the Year
Del Barber - Love Songs For The Last Twenty
Jen Lane - For the Night
Kim Beggs - Blue Bones
Romi Mayes - Lucky Tonight
Ruth Moody - The Garden
Steve Dawson – Nightshade

World Recording of the Year
Cassius Khan - Mushtari a live concert
Matthew Lien and Yin-chung Huang - Orchid Island
Pacifika – Supermagique
Tambura Rasa – Adsum
Trio Bembe - Oh my soul

Aboriginal Recording of the Year

Black Rain - Under The Gun
Colette Trudeau - Colette Trudeau
Cris Derksen - The Cusp
Don Amero - The Long Way Home
FEENIX – Collabanation
Vince Fontaine - Songs For Turtle Island

Francophone Recording of the Year
Annette Campagne - J'peux pas demander mieux
Les Surveillantes - La racine carrée du coeur
Marie-Josée Ouimet - L'heure bleue
Raphaël Freynet - Le monde à voir

Independent Album of the Year
Chic Gamine - City City
Del Barber - Love Songs For The Last Twenty
Jordan Cook - Seven Deadly Sins
Rah Rah - Breaking Hearts
We Are The City - High School

Songwriter(s) of the Year
Christine Fellows – Mlle. Steno

David Vertesi – All Night, All Night, All Night
Donny Parenteau – Play On
Rob Shapiro/Darren Gusnowsky/Stacie Roper/Byron Hill – Searchin' For You
Jay Semko – Before You Leave Canada
Romi Mayes – Ball and Chain