Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark Return with 'The Punishment of Luxury'

Get your first taste of the synth-pop heroes' new album with the video for "La Mitrailleuse"
Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark Return with 'The Punishment of Luxury'
Four years on from delivering English Electric, synth-pop pioneers Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark have lifted the curtain on their 13th studio album. Titled The Punishment of Luxury, the new disc is set to arrive on September 1 through White Noise Records.

Twelve tracks in length, The Punishment of Luxury was written, recorded and produced by the duo of Andy McCluskey and Paul Humphreys. The record takes its name from an 1981 painting by Italian artist Giovani Segantini and is described as "a daring collection of stylish synth pop and masterful songwriting."

"On this album we have managed to make beautiful things out of noises and repetitive patterns," McCluskey said in a press release. "The trouble is, we just cant help but write a catchy melody!"

The Punishment of Luxury is available for pre-order here. Read through the tracklisting to watch an animated video for "La Mitrailleuse" in the player below.

The Punishment of Luxury:

1. The Punishment of Luxury
2. Isotype
3. Robot Man
4. What Have We Done
5. Precision & Decay
6. As We Open, So We Close
7. Art Eats Art
8. Kiss Kiss Kiss Bang Bang Bang
9. One More Time
10. La Mitrailleuse
11. Ghost Star
12. The View From Here