Old Man Gloom

The Ape of God

Old Man GloomThe Ape of God
Editor's Note: As it turns out, the tricksters of Old Man Gloom are in fact releasing two separate records under the name The Ape of God, comprising 90 minutes' worth of material. This eight track offering is apparently just a promotional release to the media collecting songs from both. More info here.

The term "supergroup" tends to get thrown around, but when it comes to post-metal outfit Old Man Gloom, it's an apt descriptor. Formed in the late '90s by Aaron Turner (Isis, Mamiffer, Hydra Head Records) and drummer Santos Montano (Zozobra), the band also includes Nate Newton (Converge, Doomriders), Caleb Scofield (Cave In, Zozobra) and electronics guru Luke Scarola. Having called it quits following 2004's Christmas, the group reunited to release the stunning doom- and sludge-soaked 2012 LP, NO. Now, Old Man Gloom return with followup The Ape of God, their sixth album.

Just as devastating, heavy and angry as their previous releases, The Ape of God maintains the band's unique weird sound, which combines huge epic rhythms with experimental noise, ambient elements and dark atmosphere. Tracks like "Fist of Fury," "The Lash" and "Never Enter" feature riffs that are fast, powerful and mesmerizing, while "Predators," "Simia Die" and "Arrows to Our Hearts" contain avant-garde tones, droning noise and melancholic vibes. The theme of the fall of mankind matches the album's sense of despair and apocalyptic sound, making The Ape of God even more of an intriguing listen. (Profound Lore)
Get It