Okkervil River 'Golden Opportunities 3' (mixtape)

Okkervil River 'Golden Opportunities 3' (mixtape)
Okkervil River released previous instalments of their Golden Opportunities mixtape series in 2007 and 2011, respectively, and now they've shared their latest collection of free cover tunes.

Golden Opportunities 3 consists of five songs, with covers of songs by Wang Chung ("Dance Hall Days"), George Benson ("Give Me the Night"), the Brains ("Money Changes Everything," which was popularized by Cyndi Lauper), Roseanne Cash ("Seven Year Ache") and Don Henley ("The End of Innocence").

All of the songs are most closely associated with the '80s, although the Brains' original version of "Money Changes Everything" actually came out in the late '70s.

The band's Will Sheff wrote in a blog post, "We worked these songs up on the road and recorded them during soundchecks, on the radio in Seattle, or at one particularly drunken and celebratory show in a tiny club in Bozeman, Montana. It's fun doing these solo songs during a tour — sometimes you play them for the audience and sometime they're the band's little secret. A last jetlagged solo song was recorded the morning after I came home from Japan."

Download or stream the songs right here.