Of Montreal Return with 'Innocence Reaches,' Reveal New Song

Of Montreal Return with 'Innocence Reaches,' Reveal New Song
From psych-pop, to glitter-ball disco, to conceptual funk, Kevin Barnes's Of Montreal project has tackled a ton of genres over the years. For the band's next collection, the newly announced Innocence Reaches, he's apparently jumping headfirst into the world of modern pop.

The album arrives August 12 through longtime label home Polyvinyl Records, and it's the follow-up project to last year's wildly eclectic Aureate Gloom. A press release has Barnes explaining that while he's often modelled Of Montreal songs after vintage pop periods, this latest 12-song set has him contemplating the current musical landscape.

"I got into this bubble of only being in some other time period," he said. "I came up picking apart the Beach Boys, the Beatles, and symphonic pieces. But last year, I was hearing Jack Ü, Chairlift, Arca, and others, thinking about low end and sound collage. It was an extra layer to geek out on."

To help tease the album, Of Montreal's "it's different for girls" is streaming below.

The psychedelically sexual cover art, which you'll see up above, was prepped by David Barnes. It's said to reflect his "wonderment for the female anatomy."

Innocence Reaches:

1. let's relate
2. it's different for girls
3. gratuitous abysses
4. my fair lady
5. les chants de maldoror
6. a sport and a pastime
7. ambassador bridge
8. def pacts
9. chaos arpeggiating
10. nursing slopes
11. trashed exes
12. chap pilot