Nine Inch Nails' Alessandro Cortini Announces 'Risveglio' Solo LP

Nine Inch Nails' Alessandro Cortini Announces 'Risveglio' Solo LP
Ambient dronesmith Alessandro Cortini is continuing his sonic journey outside of his live duties with Nine Inch Nails, having just revealed plans to issue another solo LP. Risveglio, his second full-length for Hospital Productions, arrives July 27.

The double LP comes one year after the artist issued his Sonno LP. While that record found Cortini focusing on the sounds of a Roland MC 202 keyboard synced up to a delay pedal, he's since added a Roland TB303 bass synthesizer to his arsenal. A press release surmises that this gives the upcoming 11-track effort a more dynamic, rhythmic approach than Sonno.

"The 303 can be such a haunting instrument used in a certain way, and I felt it completely fit the mood of the previous work I have done on the 202, especially when given a specific location in space," Cortini said in a statement, adding of the extra vintage hardware, "It's such a living instrument."

The album title translates from Italian into English as "awakening," and it's explained that the songs were composed while out on the road with Nine Inch Nails, "during late-night downtime." You can listen to the haunting and cyclical first tease from the set, "La Sveglia," down below.

Cortini will bring together songs from Sonno and Risveglio for an upcoming audio-visual performance at Berlin's Atonal festival in August. North American dates have yet to be announced.


1. Stambecco
2. La Sveglia
3. Rispetto
4. Dormiveglia
5. Lotta
6. La Meta
7. La Via
8. La Guardia
9. Posso
10. Ricadere
11. La Sveglia (Drum Version)