​Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds to Release 'Lovely Creatures' Greatest-Hits Comp

​Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds to Release 'Lovely Creatures' Greatest-Hits Comp
Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds' 2016 studio album Skeleton Tree arrived alongside a film titled One More Time with Feeling, but those looking to dig deeper into the artist's musical past are in luck. A new greatest-hits package titled Lovely Creatures is expected out on May 5 through Mute Records/BMG.
The career-spanning set features material from 1984's From Her to Eternity up to 2013's Push the Sky Away, including classics old and new like "Stagger Lee," "The Mercy Seat," "Where the Wild Roses Grow," "Jubilee Street," "O Children" and "Red Right Hand."
Lovely Creatures will be available in four formats: 2-CD, 3-LP, deluxe 3-CD plus a DVD, and finally, as a super deluxe 3-CD plus DVD and book package. Find the complete, extensive tracklists below.
The collection was compiled by Cave with help from co-founding Bad Seeds member Mick Harvey, as well as their current bandmates. In addition to selecting the music, members are also offering up a glimpse at previously unseen photos and memorabilia from their personal archives, which have been amassed into the aforementioned hardcover book. It also features a series of original essays.
Cave has released a statement about the upcoming release, which reads:
There are some people out there who just don't know where to start with The Bad Seeds. Others know the catalogue better than I do! This release is designed to be a way into three decades of music making. That's a lot of songs. The songs we have chosen are the ones that have stuck around, for whatever reason. Some songs are those that demand to be played live. Others are lesser songs that are personal favourites of ours. Others are just too big and have too much history to leave out. And there are those that didn't make it, poor things. They are the ones you must discover by yourselves.
The album's full afterword, penned by Cave, can be read here.
If that's not enticing enough, you can watch a trailer for Lovely Creatures below.
If you still need further help navigating Cave's extensive catalogue, be sure to peruse Exclaim!'s Essential Guide to Nick Cave. Finally, find information about the band's upcoming North American tour dates over here.

Lovely Creatures 2-CD:
Disc 1:
1. Loverman
2. Tupelo
3. Deanna
4. From Her To Eternity
5. The Weeping Song
6. Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!
7. People Ain't No Good
8. Higgs Boson Blues
9. Straight To You
10. Where The Wild Roses Grow
Disc 2:
1. Into My Arms
2. Love Letter
3. Red Right Hand
4. The Mercy Seat
5. O Children
6. The Ship Song
7. Stranger Than Kindness
8. Jubilee Street
9. Nature Boy
10. We No Who U R
11. Stagger Lee
Lovely Creatures 3-LP:
Side A:
1. Loverman 
2. Tupelo 
3. Deanna 
4. From Her To Eternity
Side B:
1. The Weeping Song 
2. Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!! 
3. People Ain't No Good
Side C:
1. Higgs Boson Blues 
2. Straight To You 
3. Where The Wild Rose Grow
Side D:
1. Into My Arms 
2. Love Letter 
3. Red Right Hand 
4. The Mercy Seat
Side E:
1. O Children 
2. The Ship Song 
3. Stranger Than Kindness
Side F:
1. Jubilee Street 
2. Nature Boy 
3. We No Who U R 
4. Stagger Lee
Lovely Creatures Deluxe 3-CD and DVD:
Disc 1: 1984-1993:
1. From Her To Eternity
2. In The Ghetto
3. Tupelo
4. I'm Gonna Kill That Woman
5. The Carny
6. Sad Waters
7. Stranger Than Kindness
8. Scum
9. The Mercy Seat
10. Deanna
11. Up Jumped The Devil
12. The Weeping Song
13. The Ship Song
14. Papa Won' t Leave You, Henry
15. Straight To You
Disc 2: 1994-2003:
1. Do You Love Me?
2. Nobody's Baby Now
3. Loverman
4. Red Right Hand
5. Stagger Lee
6. Where The Wild Roses Grow
7. Into My Arms
8. People Ain't No Good
9. Brompton Oratory
10. (Are You) The One That I've Been Waiting For?
11. Come Into My Sleep
12. Love Letter
13. God Is In The House
14. He Wants You
15. Shoot Me Down
Disc 3: 2004-2013:
1. Hiding All Away
2. There She Goes, My Beautiful World
3. Nature Boy
4. Breathless
5. Babe, You Turn Me On
6. O Children
7. Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!
8. Night Of The Lotus Eaters
9. We Call Upon The Author
10. Jesus Of The Moon
11. More News From Nowhere
12. We No Who U R
13. Jubilee Street
14. Higgs Boson Blues
15. Push The Sky Away

1. Interview, Kippevel, Netherlands, 1988
2. "Night of the Lotus Eaters," Docks de Suds, Marseilles, France, 2008
3. "Red Right Hand," Glastonbury Festival, UK, 1988
4. "The Weeping Song," Boxed Set, Glasgow STV Studios, UK, 2001
5. Interview, New York, USA, 2013
6. "Higgs Boson Blues," La Fabrique Studios, France, 2012
7. Interview, Stranger in a Strange Land documentary, Berlin, Germany, 1987
8. "From Her To Eternity," Perkins Palace, Pasadena, USA, 1984
9. "Love Letter," ABC Studios, Australia, 2001
10. Interview, Bish's Biz, Australia, 2013
11. "Do You Love Me?," Boxed Set, Glasgow STV Studios, UK, 2001
12. Interview, Boxed Set, Glasgow STV Studios, UK, 2001
13. "Into My Arms," INmusic Festival, Zagreb, Croatia, 2008
14. "We Call Upon The Author," B1 Maximum Club, Moscow, Russia, 2009
15. Interview, Ein Abend in Wien, Rotterdam, Netherlands, 1991
16. "The Mercy Seat," Bizarre Festival, Germany, 1996
17. Interview, Columbus, Ohio, USA, 1984
18. "God Is In The House," Later With Jools Holland, London, 2001
19. Interview, Bish's Biz, Australia, 2013
20. "Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!," Globe Annexet, Stockholm, Sweden, 2008
21. "Brompton Oratory," MTV Live n Loud, 1997
22. "I'm Gonna Kill That Woman," Posthof, Linz, Austria, 1986
23. "Jubilee Street," The Fonda Theatre, LA, USA, 2013
24. "The Ship Song," Live at Paradiso DVD, Amsterdam, Netherlands, 1992
25. Interview, Lollapalooza, USA, 1994
26. "Loverman," Bizarre Festival, Germany, 1996
27. Interview, Australia, 1988
28. "In The Ghetto," Exit, Chicago, USA, 1984
29. "Hiding All Away," The Abattoir Blues Tour DVD, Brixton Academy, London, UK, 2004
30. Interview, Australia, 1992
31. "Where the Wild Roses Grow," MTV Most Wanted, London, UK, 1995
32. "Deanna," St Luke's, London, UK, 2008
33. "O Children," Le Trianon, Paris, France, 2013
34. Interview, Festival Crazy Rock, Chile, 1996
35. "Stagger Lee," The White Room, London, UK, 1996
36. Interview, Austin City Limits, Austin, Texas, USA, 2014
37. Interview, Australia, 1995
38. "Push The Sky Away," The Fonda Theatre, LA, USA, 2013
39. "There She Goes, My Beautiful World," The Abattoir Blues Tour DVD, Brixton Academy, London, UK, 2004