Nicholas Krgovich Teams Up with Phil Elverum for 'On Sunset' Companion Album

Nicholas Krgovich Teams Up with Phil Elverum for 'On Sunset' Companion Album
Nicholas Krgovich won't release his Los Angeles-themed album On Sunset until October 7, but he's already announced a companion album called On Cahuenga. This will arrive on November 25 through Orindal Records, the label run by Casiotone for the Painfully Alone's Owen Ashworth.

On Cahuenga features an identical tracklist to On Sunset (minus the earlier LP's titular orchestral overture), but the arrangements are entirely different. Unlike the widescreen pop and R&B of On Sunset, On Cahuenga is made up of solo electric piano and vocal performances.

These were captured live on tape in a single afternoon by Phil Elverum (of the Microphones and Mount Eerie). Ashworth wrote in an announcement, "On Cahuenga is a warm, intimate, and beautiful recording from one of my all-time favourite singer-songwriters. I practically begged Nicholas to make this album, and I'm so proud to be releasing it on Orindal Records."

For a taste of what this sounds like, scroll past the tracklist below to hear the stripped-down version of "City of Night." If you're suitably impressed, On Cahuenga is available to pre-order on 140-gram clear vinyl right here.

Like On Sunset, this latest LP takes its title from a boulevard in Los Angeles. It's also very similar in name to "Lost on Cahuenga," a song from David Lynch's Fox Bat Strategy project. Probably not coincidentally, Krgovich has previously covered that song.

On Cahuenga:

1. The Backlot
2. Along the PCH on Oscar Night
3. Cosmic Vision
4. Let's Take the Car Out
5. City of Night
6. Rock's Dream
7. You're Through
8. The Mansion
9. At Pershing Sq.
10. Moon's Soft Glow