Next Music from Tokyo Reveals 2016 Edition with Mass of the Fermenting Dregs

Next Music from Tokyo Reveals 2016 Edition with Mass of the Fermenting Dregs
An annual tour that introduces Canadians to the best of Japan's indie and underground music scene, Next Music from Tokyo has announced the details behind its eighth edition, set to take place this May in Toronto, Montreal and Vancouver.

Highlighting this year's lineup is the return of Mass of the Fermenting Dregs, who are reportedly sounding "better and more ferocious than ever" since their 2012 breakup. Rounding out the bill are experimental electronic outfit Dalljub Step Club, experimental pop quartet Gozen Sanji to Taikutsu, shoegaze trio Regal Lily and melodic math rockers Nengu.

The tour is curated by Toronto-based anesthesiologist Steven Tanaka, who frequently travels to Japan to scout each year's lineup. A press releases notes that with shows selling out yearly, Next Music from Tokyo "is proof that music played with energy and passion transcends language barriers, and can be appreciated by audiences anywhere."

Four tour dates will make up this year's itinerary, with the bands spending two nights in Toronto before performances in Montreal and Vancouver. Scroll through the schedule to get a taste of this year's lineup in the players below.

Tour dates:

05/20 Toronto, ON - Soybomb
05/21 Toronto, ON - Lee's Palace
05/23 Montreal, QC - Divan Orange
05/25 Vancouver, BC - Biltmore Cabaret

Mass of the Fermenting Dregs:

Dalljub Step Club:

Gozen Sanji to Taikutsu:

Regal Lily: