New Super Furry Animals Album On the Way

New Super Furry Animals Album On the Way
Super Furry Animals (aka the gift that keeps on giving) have announced the band are nearly finished their ninth album proper.

Through recent label home Rough Trade, the long-running Welsh outfit have confirmed they will release their as-yet-untitled new full-length April 21 in North America and a month earlier on March 16 via the band's website.

In an online statement, the Furries tell us their latest will be "based around riffs and grooves we've been playing around with over the last few years," adding that the band have decided to "leave off the acoustic ballads for the time being."

"It's recognisable as a melodic SFA record," the band go on to say, "but is very focused musically as a cohesive album. And no country rock, as Daf has developed a pedal steel phobia. Which has confined the great Nashvillian instrument along with the saxophone to the banned instrument directive of the SFA board. There's only one slow number, which isn't slow at all."

As for the artwork, the group have enlisted long-time cohort and Monsterism creator Pete Fowler to do a joint album cover effort with famed Japanese artist Keiichi Tanaami, who did the cover for the Furries' last album, 2007's Hey Venus!

Super Furry Animals promise they have "some more tricks up their sleeve" for the album, but for now have only provided us with the tracklisting, which is:

1. "The Very Best of Neil Diamond"
2. "White Socks/Flip Flops"
3. "Inaugural Trams"
4. "Sounds Familiar"
5. "Cardiff In The Sun"
6. "Where Do You Wanna Go?"
7. "LLiwiau LLachar"
8. "Mountain"
9. "Moped Eyes"
10. "Inconvenience"
11. "Crazy Naked Girls"
12. "Earth"
13. "Prick"

Super Furry Animals "The Gift That Keep Giving"