The National Working On New Album, Side-Projects

The National Working On New Album, Side-Projects
The National have finally delivered some info about the band's follow-up to their much-loved Boxer album. In a new interview with Billboard, the band's Aaron Dessner said the National are "pretty far into the process of writing" their next album and that the Brooklyn-based outfit will start recording in April at Dessner's new home studio.

He did not reveal when fans could expect to hear the new album or which label would be handling it (4AD, we assume) but did talk about a few other upcoming projects.

As previously reported, Dessner and his brother Bryce are producing 4AD's upcoming charity comp, Dark Was the Night, which features a star-studded cast of contributers such as Arcade Fire, Spoon, Grizzly Bear, Cat Power, Feist, the New Pornographers, Sufjan Steven and the National, among others.

The Dessners have also been collaborating on a new instrumental project "focused on taking the way we play together and developing arrangements," Aaron Dessner told Billboard.

"We did a few performances over the summer while we were on tour, like at festivals in France and Italy," Dessner said, adding: "We're gearing up for possibly a really big performance together next fall, and then maybe to make a record. This feeds our brains and lets us push ourselves. Either that, or it's incessant noodling."

No word on those performances or any due date for a record but the tracklisting has been revealed for Dark Was the Night, which arrives February 17. Here it is:

Disc One:

1. "Knotty Pine" -€“ Dirty Projectors and David Byrne
2. "Cello Song" -€“ The Books featuring Jose Gonzalez
3. "Train Song" -€“ Feist and Ben Gibbard
4. "Deep Blue Sea" -€“ Grizzly Bear
5. "So Far Around the Bend" -€“ The National
6. "Tightrope" -€“ Yeasayer
7. "Feeling Good" -€“ My Brightest Diamond
8. "Dark Was the Night" -€“ The Kronos Quartet
9. "I Was Young When I Left Home" -€“ Antony and Bryce Dessner
10. "Big Red Machine" -€“ Bon Iver and Aaron Dessner
11. "Sleepless" -€“ The Decemberists
12. "Die" -€“ Iron & Wine
13. "Service Bell" -€“ Grizzly Bear and Feist
14. "Blood" -€“ Sufjan Stevens

Disc Two:

1. "Well-Alright" -€“ Spoon
2. "Lenin" -€“ The Arcade Fire
3. "Mimizan" -€“ Beirut
4. "El Caporal" -€“ My Morning Jacket
5. "Inspiration Information" -€“ Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
6. "With a Girl Like You" -€“ Dave Sitek
7. "Blood Pt. 2" -€“ Buck 65 remix featuring Sufjan Stevens and Serengeti
8. "Hey, Snow White" -€“ The New Pornographers
9. "Gentle Hour" -€“ Yo La Tengo
10. "Another Saturday" -€“ Stuart Murdoch
11. "Happiness" -€“ Riceboy Sleeps
12. "Amazing Grace" -€“ Cat Power
13. "The Giant of Illinois" -€“ Andrew Bird
14. "Lua" -€“ Conor Oberst and Gillian Welch
15. "When the Road Runs Out" -€“ Blonde Redhead and Devastations
16. "Love vs. Porn" -€“ Kevin Drew

The National "Apartment Story"