Mykki Blanco Launches Dogfood Music Group Label with Compilation

Mykki Blanco Launches Dogfood Music Group Label with Compilation
New York rapper Mykki Blanco has had a whirlwind few weeks. After revealing he is HIV positive, he stopped by Calgary's Sled Island for an "aggressive and chaotic" set. Up next, he's set to launch his new label with a compilation release.

Blanco has been dropping hints about the Dogfood Music Group for a while, but now the full details of the imprint have emerged. The company is a sub-label of !K7, and exists to "give voices to the underground artists that inspire their communities, contribute to and share Mykki's artistic vision and transcend conventional cultural boundaries and constructs."

Dogfood Music Group will launch in full with the arrival of C-ORE. The compilation features a pair of new Mykki Blanco songs, as well as music from label artists Violence, Psychoegyptian and Yves Tumor.

"We are a group of friends who have created a release that represents a slice of what we're into, our culture and what we want to show the world," Blanco said in a statement. "People all over the world are only fed this singular image of 'African American Music' and we want to disrupt that. We all come from backgrounds outside of the black American norm, and the world deserves to see our culture as much as anything else."

C-ORE will arrive on September 18 via Dogfood Music Group. The album's cover is available above, while its tracklisting can be found below.


1. Violence "This Is Going To Be Disgusting, Unholy, And Pleasurable"
2. Psychoegyptian "Lbcd"
3. Mykki Blanco "Coke White, Starlight"
4. Yves Tumor "Histrionic I"
5. Psychoegyptian "Don't I Look"
6. Yves Tumor "Childish"
7. Yves Tumor "Histrionic II"
8. Violence "Saturn"
9. Yves Tumor "Histrionic III / Skunk of the Earth"
10. Mykki Blanco "Paw"
11. Violence "Stillborn Song"
12. Psychoegyptian "Lullaby" (ft. Slum Savage)