My Morning Jacket's Jim James Announces Debut Solo LP, Shares New Track

My Morning Jacket's Jim James Announces Debut Solo LP, Shares New Track
My Morning Jacket frontman Jim James previously promised to release a solo album containing some "really different" material, and now the singer has formally announced the collection. The debut solo LP, which will come out under James's given name rather than his Yim Yames moniker, is called Regions of Light and Sound of God and it will come out on February 5 through ATO.

According to a press release, James plays every instrument on the disc, and even engineered it himself. Its primary source of inspiration is a 1929 graphic novel called God's Man by Lynd Ward.

"Some of the things happening in the book were happening to me in real life, in a very strange and painful, then a very beautiful way," the singer said in a statement. "I wanted the album to sound like it came from a different place in time. Perhaps sounding as if it were the past of the future, if that makes any sense — like a hazy dream that a fully-realized android or humanoid capable of thought might have when it reminisces about the good old days of just being a simple robot."

See the nine-song tracklist below, and listen to the six-and-a-half-minute album cut "Know Til Now" at the bottom of the page. The track blends sprawling ambience with head-bobbing, synth-assisted grooves. It's available to stream or download for free.

Pre-order the album in a variety of formats from James's website.

Regions of Light and Sound of God:

1. State of the Art (A.E.I.O.U)
2. Know Til Now
3. Dear One
4. A New Life
5. Exploding
6. Of the Mother Again
7. Actress
8. All Is Forgiven
9. God's Love to Deliver