Mountain Goats Announce Bonus All Eternals Deck Cassette

Mountain Goats Announce Bonus <i>All Eternals Deck</i> Cassette
Late last year, soft-rockin' indie troubadour John Darnielle revealed plans to issue his next Mountain Goats album All Eternals Deck. The set was said to include some songs recorded by lauded death metal producer Erik Rutan (Hate Eternal, Morbid Angel) and would feature some tough-as-nails song titles, including "Birth of Serpents" and "Beautiful Gas Mask." What Darnielle didn't mention until now is that demo versions exist for most of All Eternals Deck, and it turns out that he wants to give the fans the chance to hear them on cassette.

Merge Records, who will release All Eternals Deck on March 29, has announced that a limited run of the analog cartridges will be available via a pre-order for the album proper. Featuring early renditions of the Mountain Goats' latest, not to mention unreleased tunes "Catherine Antrim's Kid" and "Rotten Stinking Mouthpiece," the companion piece is similarly titled All Survivors Pack. The limited release is being pressed on a hand-coloured cassette. You can check out the tracklisting below and pre-order the record here

If you can't wait for the March release to hear some new Mountain Goats material, Darnielle and company will be taking to late-night TV next week (February 23) to premiere a new track on the Late Show with David Letterman. Set your TiVo's, early birds.

All Survivors Pack:

1. "Catherine Antrim's Kid"

2. "Beautiful Gas Mask"

3. "Birth of Serpents"

4. "The Autopsy Garland"

5. "Estate Sale Sign"

6. "Rotten Stinking Mouthpiece"

7. "Sourdoire Valley Song"

8. "Age of Kings"

9. "High Hawk Season"

10. "Never Quite Free"

11. "For Charles Bronson"

12. "Liza Forever Minnelli"