Mount Eerie Details 'Sauna'

Mount Eerie Details 'Sauna'
Mount Eerie had already promised that a new album called Sauna was on the way, and now Phil Elverum has detailed the impending collection. It will be out on February 3 through the musician's own P.W. Elverum & Sun label.

Sauna consists of two records that run at 45 rpm, and the whole thing clocks in at 55 minutes. It includes 12 songs, all of them featuring one-word titles. The tracklist is below, and the album cover is above.

An announcement calls this the "ultimate Mount Eerie album." Apparently, "This is music meant to weigh heavy on you like a lot of cold water at night, and also the sword glimmering at the bottom of the lake at night." Elverum has said that the reference points are "vikings and zen and real life."

The album was made over the course of 15 months. A trailer is embedded at the bottom of the page. This takes viewers on a tour of Elverum's studio (the Unknown, which is housed in a church in Anacortes, WA) while an ominous drone blares in the background.

The album is available to pre-order from the label. The 180-gram records will come houses in a heavy gatefold jacket with a "jumbo poster."


1. Sauna
2. Turmoil
3. Dragon
4. Emptiness
5. (something)
6. Boat
7. Planets
8. Pumpkin
9. Spring 
10. Books 
11. This 
12. Youth