Morrissey Readies Expanded Reissue of 'Kill Uncle'

Morrissey Readies Expanded Reissue of 'Kill Uncle'
Morrissey's had a rough go of it lately, as he cancelled some U.S. tour dates after being hospitalized for a bleeding ulcer and other conditions. This isn't stopping the former Smiths frontman from digging into the archives for a pair of new reissues, however. On April 8 in the UK, Parlophone will release expanded version of Morrissey's 1991 record Kill Uncle, as well as the single "The Last of the Famous International Playboys."

This new version of Kill Uncle has been remastered and features a reordered tracklist. As for extra content, it comes with "Pashernate Love" and a cover of Herman's Hermits' "East West," plus a live-in-studio performance of "There's a Place in Hell for Me and My Friends" (which replaces the original version of the song). These bonus tracks have been incorporated into the reordered tracklist rather than tacked onto the end.

However, some fans may notice that certain tracks included on some older versions of the record are now missing here, including the song "Tony the Pony."

According to a press release, "The album has a revitalized quality, which accentuates some of its more subtle, experimental qualities and nuances."

Kill Uncle will be available on CD or heavyweight vinyl, both of which come in gatefold packaging. It will have a new album cover, which will be unveiled soon. For now, an older version is above.

As for the reissue of "The Last of the Famous International Playboys," it features B-sides culled from a recent live session for the BBC. Each of the formats comes with a different track: the 7-inch picture disc is backed with "People Are the Same Everywhere," the CD features "Action Is My Middle Name" and digital copies come with "The Kid's a Looker."

Thanks to Slicing Up Eyeballs/True to You for the tip.

Kill Uncle:

1. Our Frank

2. Sing Your Life

3. Mute Witness

4. King Leer

5. Asian Rut

6. Pashernate Love

7. East West

8. Found Found Found

9. Driving Your Girlfriend Home

10. The Harsh Truth Of The Camera Eye

11. There's a Place In Hell For Me And My Friends (live-in-studio)

12. (I'm) The End of the Family Line