Moritz Von Oswald Trio Fetch

Moritz Von Oswald TrioFetch
Moritz Von Oswald, Max Loderbauer (aka NSI and Sun Electric) and Sasu Ripatti (aka Vladislav Delay, Sistol and Luomo) return as the Moritz Von Oswald Trio to deliver their exceptional third studio release, Fetch, on Honest Jon's. The fundamentals of the album were recorded during a four-hour session in August 2011 and feature contributions from ECM's Marc Muellbauer (aka Kaleidoscop) on double bass, returning contributor Tobias Freund, who adds live effects and instrumental overdubs, trumpeter Sebastian Studnitzky and Jonas Schoen on flute, bass clarinet and saxophone. Together they create modern, innovative, fluid free-form jazz and dub-y techno. The album consists of four long-format compositions that organically evolve with various breathing textures intertwined with morphing electronic percussion rhythms to hold it all together. Seventeen-minute opening number "Jam" is dominated by the loose, echoing sounds of a trumpet, incorporating live, pulsing percussion elements and an assortment of crackles for a cool, urban, evening jazz vibe. "Dark" is an ominous dub track with a slow-paced swagger and "Club" is a 12-minute techno journey that quietly builds tension while incorporating light tones and haunting wooden clangs. The Moritz Von Oswald Trio deliver their most impressive and spatially alluring album to date with Fetch. This is highly recommended! (Honest Jon's)