More Light Shone On Sparklehorse/Danger Mouse/David Lynch Project Dark Night of the Soul

More Light Shone On Sparklehorse/Danger Mouse/David Lynch Project Dark Night of the Soul
More details have emerged this week about the long in-the-works Dark Night of the Soul project, a multimedia extravaganza helmed by Sparklehorse, Danger Mouse, David Lynch and a pile of celeb guest stars. Apparently, the 13-track album/book, which now has a tracklisting, will be out sometime in June, but will be limited to a run of 5,000 copies, with each going for about $69 Canadian.

According to NME, the book comes packaged with photos from Lynch (who also guests on two tracks), and the company behind the project, powerHouse, has no plans to put out the release as a download or in any other form.

Until recently, Dark Night of the Soul was streaming online at Chrysalis's music blog, but the tracks have been removed, with no plans to put them back up.

As previously reported, Dark Night of the Soul features guest appearances from the likes of Black Francis, Julian Casablancas, the Flaming Lips, James Mercer, Iggy Pop, Gruff Rhys, Granddaddy's Jason Lytle, Nina Persson and Suzanne Vega. The project is also becoming a live, in-person experience in a new art installation at L.A.'s Michael Kohn Gallery. That installation features two rooms full of music from the album and photos from the book, and runs from May 30 to July 11.

There is no word yet of when pre-orders will begin for this sure-to-sell-out release.

Here is the confirmed list of tracks, as well as the guests who appear on them, for Dark Night of the Soul:

1. "Revenge" (featuring Flaming Lips' Wayne Coyne)
2. "Just War" (featuring Super Furry Animals' Gruff Rhys)
3. "Jaykub" (featuring Grandaddy's Jason Lytle)
4. "Little Girl" (featuring the Strokes' Julian Casablancas)
5. "Angel's Harp" (featuring Frank Black)
6. "Pain" (featuring Iggy Pop)
7. "Star Eyes (I Can't Catch It)" (featuring David Lynch)
8. "Everytime I'm With You" (featuring Jason Lytle)
9. "Insane Lullaby" (featuring the Shins' James Mercer)
10. "Daddy's Gone" (featuring the Cardigans' Nina Persson)
11. "The Man Who Played God" (featuring Suzanne Vega)
12. "Grim Augury" (featuring Vic Chesnutt)
13. "Dark Night Of The Soul" (featuring David Lynch)