Mood Rings Announce Debut LP 'VPI Harmony,' Premiere New Track

Mood Rings Announce Debut LP 'VPI Harmony,' Premiere New Track
Two years have passed since Atlanta's Mood Rings served up their Sweater Weather Forever EP in 2011, but the band are about to make their return with a meatier offering. Their debut LP VPI Harmony drops June 25 through new label home Mexican Summer.

A press release explains that Mood Rings have moved past the lo-fi leanings of Sweater Weather Forever, with their impending 11-song set having been recorded, mixed and mastered at Brooklyn, NY's Gary's Electric studio. Throughout the LP, the band apparently flirt with anything from "taut post-punk to lush '60s balladry, and starry-eyed guitar pop to moody guitar squall."

As you can hear for yourself in the player down below, first single "Pathos y Lagrimas" is a full-bodied number built around ethereal beds of '80s synths, bass bounce and heaven-sent vocal washes.

The single was served up as a limited-edition, screen-printed 7-inch on Record Stored Day (April 20). Regular copies of the mini-platter can be ordered here.

VPI Harmony:

1. Dark Flow

2. Pathos y Lagrimas

3. Come Lay Down in Lined Arrangements

4. Perusha

5. Minor Slaloms

6. Promise Me Eternity

7. The Line

8. Exorcised Painting

9. Hollow Dye (Defected Crystal)

10. Get Lost

11. Charles Mansion