Monogrenade Detail 'Composite,' Share New Track

Monogrenade Detail 'Composite,' Share New Track
Montreal's Monogrenade previously shared a cryptic album trailer for their upcoming Composite LP, and now the Francophone indie pop outfit have confirmed the full details surround the record, which will be out on February 4 through Bonsound.

The album reportedly examines the essence of humanity. "We are complex beings, made up of genetic, environmental, chaotic baggage," songwriter Jean-Michel Pigeon said in a statement. "We are too small (or too big) to understand all of our complexities. We sail through this as if we knew what we should do, what is right and what is wrong. Like planets revolving around the sun, old ancestors orbit around us as if they knew our secrets."

Composite contains guest appearances from French horn player Pietro Amato, vocalist Marie-Pierre Arthur and string quartet Mommies on the Run. It additionally features vintage synths and a LinnDrum drum machine.

Scroll past the tracklist below to hear the beat-heavy, arpeggiator-driven electro-pop tune "Métropolis," which takes its title (and inspiration) from the German sci-fi film from 1927.

Monogrenade will launch Composite with a hometown gig at La Tulipe on February 5 before playing a few more Quebec dates. Look for the full album to stream on ahead of time.


1. Portal

2. Composite

3. L aimant

4. Cercles et pentagones

5. Labyrinthe

6. J attends

7. Métropolis

8. Phaéton

9. Tes yeux

10. Le fantôme

Tour dates:

02/05 Montreal, QC - La Tulipe
03/01 Quebec City, QC - Le Cercle
04/12 Hull, QC - Petit Chicago