Mogwai's Concert Film/Album Gets Late Summer Release

Mogwai's Concert Film/Album Gets Late Summer Release
Those holding out for that previously announced concert film/album by Glaswegian post-rock heroes Mogwai have waited a long time, but the band will finally give fans what they've been waiting for this August.

The live-rock-action package will now be available August 24, and will be available in a number of formats for both the visual and audio portions, titled Burning and Special Moves, respectively.

Burning, whose teaser trailer can be viewed below, comprises 45 minutes of footage from the band's three-night residency at Brooklyn's Music Hall of Williamsburg in April 2009. As we previously mentioned, the residency was part of the band's hectic touring schedule in support of their 2008 LP, The Hawk Is Howling.

Special Moves acts akin to a live "best of" compilation, with the band playing songs from as far back as their debut's "Mogwai Fear Satan." Included in the 11 tracks is a live version of "New Paths to Helicon Pt. 1," which you can download for free here in exchange for spreading word of the release via Facebook.

The release is available in digital, physical, and deluxe formats, all of which are available for pre-order here. The "Basic Digital" package comes with the digital album and iPod-compatible video, while the "Premium Digital," for an extra $4, comes with a higher quality version of Burning. The "Physical" package is the CD/DVD package, and includes the "Premium Digital" package with it. But hardcore fans will want the "Deluxe Package," which comes with all this plus an exclusive triple-LP version of the album plus bonus tracks, an exclusive Mogwai patch and, if you're one of the first 200 to pre-order, a signed Mogwai poster.

Special Moves:

1. "I'm Jim Morrison, I'm Dead"
2. "Friend Of The Night"
3. "Hunted By A Freak"
4. "Mogwai Fear Satan"
5. "Cody"
6. "You Don't Know Jesus"
7. "I Know You Are But What Am I"
8. "I Love You, I'm Going To Blow Up Your School"
9. "2 Rights Make 1 Wrong"
10. "Like Herod"
11. "Glasgow Megasnake"
12. "Yes! I Am A Long Way From Home" *
13. "Scotlands Shame" *
14. "New Paths To Helicon Part 1" *
15. "Batcat" *
16. "Thank You Space Expert" *
17. "The Precipice" *

* vinyl only