Mogwai Side-Project Crippled Black Phoenix Ready Three Albums For 2009

Mogwai Side-Project Crippled Black Phoenix Ready Three Albums For 2009
If Mogwai's The Hawk Is Howling didn't satisfy that need for doom and gloom, you may want to check out the Scots' dreary offshoot, Crippled Black Phoenix, who have three releases lined up for the new year.

The UK doom-folk collective, originally conceived by Mogwai bassist Dominic Aitchison and Justin Greaves of Electric Wizard and Iron Monkey, will deliver two LPs, The Resurrectionists and Night Raider, in 2009. Both are due out via Invada Records, the imprint run by Portishead's Geoff Barrow, and the records appear to be import-only.

However, this is where LP three comes in. Brooklyn Vegan reports that Crippled Black Phoenix are readying another LP, the domestic 200 Tons of Bad Luck, which is due out "March-ish" 2009 on Cargo and will be "a single album version comprised of a collection of songs from both [previously named new] albums."

All the records follow A Love Of Shared Disasters from 2007, and at that time the group described themselves as being "born from a blizzard of horned cats" (whatever that means) and bringing "a twisted cinematic experience, handcrafted by a mercenary crew of musical outsiders, giving depth and gravity to regal songs about love, loss, tragedy and redemption." And with the group's MySpace page now telling us to expect "the soundtrack to saying goodbye" with the new material, it appears the band are sticking close to their original plan.

There are no firm release dates yet for The Resurrectionists, Night Raider and 200 Tons of Bad Luck, but those are expected to be announced shortly, along with an upcoming UK/North America tour.

Crippled Black Phoenix "Really, How'd It Get This Way"