Mogwai Announce New EP, Album, Young Team Reissue

Mogwai Announce New EP, Album, <i>Young Team</i> Reissue
Scottish post-rockers Mogwai have announced they have teamed up with psych legend Roky Erickson for their upcoming EP. Titled the Batcat EP, the three-track release finds Erickson, of 13th Floor Elevators fame, lending his voice to the Mogwai song "Devil Rides.” And considering Erickson’s rocky ride with mental illness and the law, the track’s title is definitely an appropriate one.

The EP’s lead track, "Batcat” is taken from Mogwai’s upcoming sixth full-length The Hawk Is Howling, which is due out September 22 in the UK and presumably the following day in North America. As for the EP, it will hit the UK as a CD, twelve-inch and download September 8, while we here in Canada will get the vinyl and download September 9.

Neither "Devil Rides” nor the tactfully titled "Stupid Prick Gets Chased by the Police and Loses His Slut Girlfriend” will be included on The Hawk Is Howling.

In other ’Wai news, the band’s seminal debut Mogwai Young Team will fittingly be reissued for its tenth anniversary on June 17 by former label Chemikal Underground. The two-disc or four-LP set will feature the original album remastered along extensive liner notes and a bonus record featuring unreleased live tracks, radio sessions and their cover of Spacemen 3’s "Honey.”

On top of all of that, Mogwai will play two Canadian shows in June. The first is in Calgary on June 28 for the much anticipated Sled Island festival, and then a one-off Toronto show at the Phoenix two days later on June 30.

Batcat EP tracklisting:

1 Batcat
2 Stupid Prick Gets Chased By The Police And Loses His Slut Girlfriend
3 Devil Rides

Young Team bonus disc tracklisting:

1 Young Face Gone Wrong
2 I Don't Know What to Say
3 I Can't Remember
4 Honey (Spacemen 3 cover)
5 Katrien (Live)
6 R U Still in 2 It (Live)
7 Like Herod (Live)
8 Summer (Priority) (Live)
9 Mogwai Fear Satan (Live)

”Mogwai Fear Satan”