Mike Patton and John Kaada Join Forces for 'Bacteria Cult'

Mike Patton and John Kaada Join Forces for 'Bacteria Cult'
While Mike Patton just delivered his first full-length with his Nevermen project last Friday (January 29), the ever-elastic entertainer has already announced another album release for 2016. Patton and Norwegian composer John Kaada have whipped up a new orchestral collection, Bacteria Cult, which arrives April 1 via Patton's Ipecac Records.

Though Kaada and Patton issued a live DVD in 2007, this marks the first full-length studio effort from the pair since 2004's Romances. A press release calls the eight-song excursion "eclectic, experimental and cinematic," with the film score-exploring work of Patton's Fantômas album Director's Cut used as a touchstone.

Kaada explained in a statement that he and Patton used their time together to mesh "new technologies" with the sound of an orchestra, with the results apparently residing "in the twilight zone where spooky and seductive meet."

"His compositions have always resonated deeply with me and his orchestral arrangements for this project are harmonically dense and delicious," Patton said of his Bacteria Cult partner. "Each individual piece is so well constructed and inventively assembled that my vocal passages practically sang themselves. I'm hoping very much that we can seduce some eardrums and welcome listeners into this lush sonic 'otherworld.'"

Previews from Bacteria Cult have yet to go live, but you'll find its artwork up above and the tracklisting down below.

Bacteria Cult:

1. Red Rainbow
2. Black Albino
3. Peste Bubonica
4. Papillon
5. Dispossession
6. A Burnt Out Case
7. Imodium
8. Fountain Gasoline