MGMT Unveil Congratulations Release Details

MGMT Unveil <i>Congratulations</i> Release Details
Brooklyn, NY's most celebrated psychedelic synth-poppers, Andrew Vanwyngarden and Ben Goldwasser, best know as MGMT, had a noisy 2008 when their debut, Oracular Spectacular, blew up, sold more than a million copies worldwide, and landed them a handful of grammy nominations and many more magazine covers.

Then, in 2009, they got all quiet, and we heard next to nothing about the band besides the fact that they were working on a follow-up album. Well, get out your whistles, wobbly synths and hand-clappers, 'cause it's about to start all over again.

As Spin reports, the band will officially release their sophomore LP, Congratulations, on April 13.

The album, which was recorded in both Brooklyn and Malibu by former Spaceman 3 member Peter "Sonic Boom" Kember and mixed by Oracular Spectacular producer Dave Fridmann, is "definitely going to shock people," says Vanwyngarden. "We dropped any sort of irony that was on the first record, and Congratulations feels true to who we really are."

The band have also indicated what a number of the songs are about: "Lady Dada's Nightmare" is a dark, instrumental homage to (surprise!) Lady Gaga, title track "Congratulations" is about fame and the economic crisis, while most of the rest of the album is apparently all about surfing.

While discussing a new song called "It's Working," Vanwyngarden explained, "There's a surfing thread throughout the record. When you're surfing, there's a specific break you're paddling to. And when the waves are really good you say, 'It's working.' The song kind of has a surf-y vibe. It's like surfing on ecstasy!"

The band also tackles the subject in the 12-minute "Siberian Breaks," which is about "surfing in the Arctic Circle by Russia."

Though only two festival appearances are currently on the band's calendar, a full tour in support of Congratulations is expected to be announced soon.


1. "It's Working"
2. "Song for Dan Treacy"
3. "Someone's Missing"
4. "Flash Delirium"
5. "I Found a Whistle"
6. "Siberian Breaks"
7. "Brian Eno"
8. "Lady Dada's Nightmare"
9. "Congratulations"