Mercury Prize Announces 2014 Nominees

Mercury Prize Announces 2014 Nominees
Much like the Polaris Music Prize in Canada, the Barclaycard Mercury Prize aims to honour the best music the UK and Ireland have to offer. Now, keeping with that tradition, Mercury's 12-album shortlist for 2014 has been announced.

The list consists of a dozen albums made in Britain and Ireland between last September and now. Notable contenders include Blur frontman Damon Albarn, FKA twigs, Bombay Bicycle Club, Anna Calvi, Jungle, East India Youth, Young Fathers and more.

These contenders were chosen by a panel of judges, who picked albums based solely on the quality of the music. All 12 nominees get a bronze statue, while the ultimate winner gets £20,000.

The winner will be named on October 29. See the nominees below.

Last year's victor was James Blake for Overgrown.

Damon Albarn - Everyday Robots

Bombay Bicycle Club - So Long, See You Tomorrow

Anna Calvi - One Breath

East India Youth - Total Strife Forever

FKA twigs - LP1

GoGo Penguin - v2.0

Jungle - Jungle

Nick Mulvey - First Mind

Polar Bear - Each and Every One

Royal Blood - Royal Blood

Kate Tempest - Everybody Down

Young Fathers - Dead