Matthew Herbert Returns With There’s Me And There’s You

Matthew Herbert Returns With <i>There’s Me And There’s You</i>
Concept-heavy sample wizard Matthew Herbert , along with his Big Band, has made his name for over a decade by turning obscure samples into meaningful, celebratory dance songs. Following the themed sound-digging he did with food on 2005’s Plat Du Jour, and more recently 2006’s Scale and 2007’s Score, Herbert is promising a protest record with There’s Me And There’s You.

Set for release on October 28, the record promises to take on war and political corruption, via samples of "70 condoms being scraped along the floor of the British Museum, a match being struck in the Houses of Parliament, one of a 100 nails being hammered into a coffin, vocals recorded at a Kent landfill site, a Kensington branch of McDonalds, a ‘stop and search’ document issued under the Prevention of Terrorism act, 100 credit cards being cut up and 70 people blowing over water bottles, shaking U.S. election badges and squirting bottles of Britney Spears’ Curious perfume in the grand entrance hall of the British Museum.” Gosh!

There's Me and There's You
01 The Story
02 Pontificate
03 Waiting
04 The yesness
05 Battery
06 Regina
07 The Rich Man's Prayer
08 Breathe
09 Knowing
10 Nonsound
11 One Life
12 Just Swing

Matthew Herbert Short Documentary