Matthew Good Gears Up for Fifth Solo LP

Matthew Good Gears Up for Fifth Solo LP
Since the break-up of his band in 2002, songwriter Matthew Good has stayed busy by releasing a series of solo albums, most recently 2009's Vancouver. The Canadian alt-rock icon is now gearing up to release his fifth official solo LP, Lights of Endangered Species, due out May 31 via Universal.

The nine-song collection was produced by Warne Livesey, who helmed some of Matthew Good Band's most celebrated albums including Underdogs (1997) and Beautiful Midnight (1999). This will be the first Good album produced by Livesey since 2004's White Light Rock & Roll Review.

A press release promises that the disc "takes Good in an unfamiliar direction, displaying arrangements that are a distinct departure" from his past work. It's said to be "stark and passionate."

You can preview the new style in the SoundCloud player at the bottom of this page, which contains the single "In a Place of Lesser Men," plus the eight-minute opus "Non Populus." The album cover is above and the tracklist is below.

A note on Good's official website says that a tour will begin in September.

Lights of Endangered Species:

1. "Extraordinary Fades"
2. "How It Goes"
3. "Shallow's Low"
4. "What If I Can't See the Stars Mildred"
5. "Zero Orchestra"
6. "Non Populus"
7. "In a Place of Lesser Men"
8. "Set Me on Fire"
9. "Lights of Endangered Species"

Lights Of Endangered Species by Matthew Good