Matthew E. White Spills 'Fresh Blood' on Sophomore Solo Album

Matthew E. White Spills 'Fresh Blood' on Sophomore Solo Album
Having played in bands like the Great White Jenkins and Fight the Big Bull, hirsute songwriter Matthew E. White made a bit of a splash with his solo debut Big Inner back in 2012 and its following 2013 EP Outer Face. Now, he's set to follow it up with Fresh Blood, due out on March 10 on Domino.

The album was produced by White along with Trey Pollard, one of his partners at his own Spacebomb Records label. It was mixed by Pat Dillett (Brian Eno, David Byrne, the National).

An announcement describes the result as "the brilliant bloom to Big Inner's striking bud." For a taste of Spacebomb's in-house orchestra and analogue sound, hear a clip of the lush folk rock song "Tranquility" in the Super 8 album trailer at the bottom of this page. The album cover is above and the tracklist is below.

A special edition of the album will come with two LPs: the standard mix, plus a minimalist version without any of the strings, horns or choir. Both can can be pre-ordered here.

White will play a release show at Brooklyn, NY's BRIC Arts Center on March 3. His backing band for the night will include a 30-piece orchestra.

Fresh Blood:

1. Take Care My Baby
2. Rock & Roll Is Cold
3. Fruit Trees
4. Holy Moly
5. Circle 'Round the Sun
6. Feeling Good Is Good Enough
7. Tranquility
8. Golden Robes
9. Vision
10. Love Is Deep