Masayoshi Fujita Prepares 'Apologues' for Erased Tapes

Masayoshi Fujita Prepares 'Apologues' for Erased Tapes
Berlin-based composer Masayoshi Fujita impressed us immensely with his 2013 effort Stories. It was another addition to his excellent catalogue (which also includes collaborations with Jan Jelinek and work as El Fog). He's now prepped his next LP Apologues.

The eight-song release marks Fujita's first album for his new label home of Erased Tapes. A press release explains that label boss Robert Raths was drawn to Fujita's unique method of drawing "ethereal and layered sounds" from the vibraphone.

Speaking of the Apologues album, Fujita offered the following statement:

With this album the main idea was to evoke images, atmospheres, sceneries and stories in the listener, the images that have accumulated in myself. At the same time it was an exploration of the unexplored beauty of the vibraphone, and also a pursuit of the charm of the instrumentation and the music itself. Erased Tapes releases a lot of great stuff and naturally became my favourite label of late. And I thought it would fit well to my music.

Erased Tapes will deliver Apologues on September 11. The album's "Tears of Unicorn" can be streamed below.


1. Tears of Unicorn
2. Moonlight
3. Swallow Flies High in the May Sky
4. Beautiful Shimmer
5. Flag
6. Knight and Spirit of Lake
7. Puppet's Strange Dream Circus Band
8. Requiem