Magik Markers Sign to Drag City, Line Up Balf Quarry For May Release

Magik Markers Sign to Drag City, Line Up <i>Balf Quarry</i> For May Release
Following a bit of grooming from Sonic Youth, Hartford, CT's Magik Markers are apparently ready to head out on their own. Recently, the nosiemakers turned pop scientists announced they're leaving Thurston Moore's Ecstatic Peace for Drag City and, more exciting yet, have a new album lined up and ready to go.

The duo have dubbed their latest creation Balf Quarry and will release it on their new label home on May 5. The album was produced by veteran boardsman/Grammy winner Scott Colburn (Animal Collective, Arcade Fire, Sun City Girl) and apparently finds Magik Markers' Elisa Ambrogio and Pete Nolan touching on a lot of different moods, slicing through everything from dark brooders to mid-rhythm rockers to some of their old high-flying hardcore.

There's no sign yet of any tour dates in support of this follow-up to the band's 2007 LP, Boss, but knowing how new records and tours go hand-in-hand, we should see some shortly.

For now, the tracklisting: 

1. "Risperdal"
2. "Don't Talk In Your Sleep"
3. "Jerks"
4. "Psychosomatic"
5. "7/23"
6. "State Numbers"
7. "The Ricercar of Dr. Clara Haber"
8. "The Lighter Side of...Hippies"
9. "Ohio R./Live/Hoosier"
10. "Shells"