Light in the Attic Reissues Arthur's Lee Hazlewood-produced 'Dreams and Images'

Light in the Attic Reissues Arthur's Lee Hazlewood-produced 'Dreams and Images'
Arthur isn't the most obscure mononymous songwriter to be reissued by Light in the Attic, although he's bound to be a new discovery for plenty of modern listeners. His 1968 album Dreams and Images will be released through the label on January 13.

The Florida songwriter's full name is Arthur Lee Harper (which is how he was credited on his 1969 LP Love Is the Revolution). Dreams and Images was first released on Lee Hazlewood's LHI label, which signed Arthur after he knocked on the company's door for an on-the-spot audition. Hazlewood also served as producer, along with Don Owens and Tom Thacker, while Don Randi was the arranger.

At the time, Hazlewood described Arthur like this: "A man who will someday be a child again… A reason to cry and be unafraid… A bird with eighth-notes for wings."

A press release describes Arthur's work as "lonely, intimate music," while the production gives it a sense of "baroque pop grandeur." This pressing adds three unreleased tracks, and all of the songs have been newly remastered.

Light in the Attic subscribers will get the album on a limited lavender-coloured vinyl pressing, while the first 150 online pre-orders will be able to get it on so-called "valentine grey." It's also available on CD or digitally.

On January 10, 2002, Arthur's wife Lora died in a car crash. Strangely, Arthur passed away of a heart attack the same night.

Dreams and Images:

1. Blue Museum
2. Children Once Were You
3. Sunshine Soldier
4. A Friend of Mine
5. Open the Door
6. Dreams and Images
7. Pandora
8. Wintertime
9. Living Circa 1920
10. Valentine Grey
11. 1860
12. Coming Home
13. Excursion 13