Les Savy Fav Confirm September Release Date for New Studio Album

Les Savy Fav Confirm September Release Date for New Studio Album
September 14 is going to be an unreal day for record releases. Interpol, the Walkmen, Superchunk and Black Mountain all have highly anticipated full-lengths dropping that day, and now we can add another heavy-hitting indie name to that list with the announcement that Brooklyn, NY spazz rock collective Les Savy Fav will drop their fifth official studio LP the same day.

Having made good on their promise that it would likely drop in September, the band announced today (June 17) that the album, which is titled Root for Ruin, would come courtesy of Frenchkiss in North America and a day early from Wichita in the UK. The record's tracklisting is below.

In an interview with Pitchfork last April, Les Savy Fav announced that the album was put together in bits and pieces over a long period of time and that it'll sound more like "mid-'90s indie bands" than previous records.

In a statement regarding the album, bassist Syd Butler enthused, "I think Root for Ruin somehow captures all the best parts of Les Savy Fav. We went into it with no expectations and are super-excited with what came out. All the songs are my favorites."

As previously reported, Les Savy Fav will play this year's NXNE festival, whose musical portion enters full swing today. They will also play Calgary's Sled Island festival in early July.

Root for Ruin:

1. "Appetites"
2. "Dirty Knails"
3. "Sleepless in Silverlake"
4. "Let's Get Out of Here"
5. "Lips n' Stuff"
6. "Poltergeist"
7. "High and Unhinged"
8. "Excess Engergies"
9. "Dear Crutches"
10. "Calm Down"
11. "Clear Spirits"