The Lemonheads To Release Covers Album in June

The Lemonheads To Release Covers Album in June
After news of it first surfaced over a year ago, it now appears that the long overdue covers album by the Lemonheads will see a release this summer. Titled Varshons, the 11-track collection finds front-man Evan Dando compiling his own mixtape, of sorts. According to a press release, "the tracks on VARSHONS cut a wide swath, jumping from early British psychedelic to Dutch electronica and like all good mix tapes, you never know what's coming next."

Varshons follows up their 2006 self-titled album, a long-awaited comeback by Dando. Featuring covers of songs by Gram Parsons, Leonard Cohen (with Liv Tyler), Townes Van Zandt, G.G. Allin, Wire, July and more, the album was produced by lead Butthole Surfer Gibby Haynes, who for years has made mixes for longtime friend Dando.

"Making a good mix is an art, and Gibby has it down," says Dando. "I thought it would be fun to share these songs with other people like he shared them with me. So I picked the 'greatest hits' from his mixes and covered them, along with a few other songs I always wanted to play."

Interestingly enough, Varshons will be released on June 23 by accomplished metal label the End Records, who no doubt are broadening their horizon with the one-time '90s alt-rock pin-up.

No word has been given as to whether Dando and whoever is in his latest version of the band will tour but here is the Varshons tracklisting:

1. "I Just Can't Take It Anymore" (Gram Parsons)
2. "Fragile" (Wire)
3. "Layin' Up With Linda" (G.G. Allin)
4. "Waiting Around To Die" (Townes Van Zandt)
5. "Green Fuz" (Randy Alvey & Green Fuz)
6. "Yesterlove" (Sam Gopal)
7. "Dirty Robot" w/ Kate Moss (Arling & Cameron)
8. "Dandelion Seeds" (July)
9. "Mexico" (Fuckemos)
10. "Hey, That's No Way To Say Goodbye" feat. Liv Tyler (Leonard Cohen)
11. "Beautiful" (Linda Perry)