Katy Goodman and Greta Morgan Revamp Punk Classics on 'Take It, It's Yours'

Katy Goodman and Greta Morgan Revamp Punk Classics on 'Take It, It's Yours'
Coming off the recent release of La Sera's Music for Listening to Music To, vocalist/bassist Katy Goodman has announced a new project saluting some of the music she listened to while growing up. Teamed up with Springtime Carnivore's Greta Morgan, the pair are twisting up the Replacements, Bad Brains, the Wipers and more for Take It, It's Yours.

Goodman had been teasing the project through her Instagram account before fully confirming the collection, which will see release August 26 through Polyvinyl. The album finds the two revamping  and re-purposing a mix of punk and new wave-defining sounds from those aforementioned artists, as well as the Misfits, Blondie, the Stooges, Buzzcocks, Billy Idol and the Gun Club.

According to a statement from Goodman, "These songs helped shaped who we are."

"On the surface a song like [Bad Brains'] 'Pay to Cum' seems really masculine, but to me, the lyrics are really more about freedom," she said. "You have the right to sing, you have the right to dance. When you have two girls harmonizing on these songs, they take on a new meaning, because you're listening in a different way. ... These songs helped shaped who we are. They gave us the songs, and now we get to give them back as our thank you."

Below, you'll find the full breakdown of Take It, It's Yours, as well as a stream of Goodman and Morgan's subtly shuffled cover of the Replacements' classic Tim anthem, "Bastards of Young."

Take It, It's Yours:

1. Over the Edge (Wipers)
2. Pay to Cum (Bad Brains)
3. Bastards of Young (The Replacements)
4. Sex Beat (The Gun Club)
5. Ever Fallen in Love (Buzzcocks)
6. Where Eagles Dare (The Misfits)
7. I Wanna Be Your Dog (The Stooges)
8. In the City (The Jam)
9. Dreaming (Blondie)
10. Rebel Yell (Billy Idol)