The Kills Announce Blood Pressures LP

The Kills Announce <i>Blood Pressures</i> LP
Way back in April 2010 the Kills' singer Alison Mossheart claimed that the group were "three quarters of the way finished" on a follow-up to 2008's Midnight Boom, but it sounded as if the record wouldn't see the light of day until she was done cavorting with supergroup the Dead Weather. Well, she's apparently ready to take a break from her Jack White collaboration, because the Kills have properly announced their fourth full-length, titled Blood Pressures.

A press release says that Mossheart and guitarist Jamie Hince returned to Key Club Studios in Michigan with Midnight Boom engineers Bill Skibbe and Jessica Ruffins to record the new album. The 11-track offering was produced by Hince.

While their last album proved more sparse, angular and beat-driven than their bluesy beginnings, Blood Pressures promises to be a more fleshed-out affair. Claiming to have some "huge-sounding harmonies," the record finds the duo "embracing a fuller sound" that includes sections of piano and mellotron atop their regular foundation of fuzzed-out guitars and Mossheart's soulful croon. It's possible there could be a couple heartrending numbers on there too. While the press release touts that the band's swagger is still intact, it does also claim that there is a "tinge of wistfulness and vulnerability" to the disc.

Blood Pressures is set to be released April 5 in North America on Domino. The record comes out a day earlier on April 4 overseas.

Blood Pressures:

1. "Future Starts Slow"

2. "Satellite"

3. "Heart Is a Beating Drum"

4. "Nail in My Coffin"

5. "Wild Charms"

6. "DNA"

7. "Baby Says"

8. "Last Goodbye"

9. "Damned If She Do"

10. "You Don't Own the Road"

11. "Pots and Pans"