The Killers' Ronnie Vannucci Unveils Big Talk Solo Project

The Killers' Ronnie Vannucci Unveils Big Talk Solo Project
Maybe it's because they hang out at the back of the stage behind a massive kit, but drummers don't tend to be the focus of most bands. Unless you're wailing hard like John Bonham, acting as the group mouthpiece like the Roots' Questlove or singing as pretty as Phil Collins, the fact is that most drummers have a way of fading into the background. With that in mind, the Killers' man behind the kit, Ronnie Vannucci, is hoping his new project, Big Talk, puts him on the tip of your tongue.

While he acts a percussionist in bombastic arena rockers the Killers, Big Talk's self-titled debut, set to be released July 12 on Epitaph, posits Vannucci as a singing/songwriting multi-instrumentalist. After getting off the road with the Killers last February, the musician apparently realized he needed some time to do things on his own.

"I needed to do this," he said in a statement. "And now, having done it, it feels like the right thing to do. It all feels very natural."

While the press release explains that the performer has taken on more duties for his solo project, he does get a little help on the album. Produced by Joe Chicarelli (the Strokes, My Morning Jacket) and mixed by Alan Moulder (U2, Foo Fighters), the album also features friend Taylor Milne, who stopped by the studio to add to the recordings and will act as lead guitarist when Big Talk performs live. While no dates have been announced, Big Talk is expected to tour the project's debut all summer long.

The album is currently available for pre-order here, while first single "Getaways" will be up for sale on iTunes on May 10.

Big Talk:

1. "Katzenjammer"
2. "Getaways"
3. "Under Water"
4. "The Next One Living"
5. "Replica"
6. "No Whiskey"
7. "Girl At Sunrise"
8. "A Fine Time To Need Me"
9. "White Dove"
10. "Living In Pictures"
11. "Hunting Season"
12. "Big Eye"