Katie Stelmanis's Austra Explore the "Sleazier Side of New Wave" on Debut Album

Katie Stelmanis's Austra Explore the "Sleazier Side of New Wave" on Debut Album
If you like your pop music dark and danceable then you're in luck: the Katie Stelmanis-led Toronto trio Austra are getting set to release their debut album, Feel It Break, which will come out via Paper Bag/Domino on April 17.

A press release says that the album is "suitable for both ritual incantations and clubs." It reportedly "[harkens] back to the sleazier side of new wave but still deeply rooted in Stelmanis's classical and operatic upbringing." The album announcement includes comparisons to the Knife, Kate Bush, Japan and Soft Cell.

We're definitely hearing the similarly to the Knife in the LP's first single, "Beat and the Pulse." You can watch a clean version of the video for the creepy, synth-ified dance track embedded below, as well as a NSFW version. Also, you can download the track in the widget below.

This month, Austra will be heading out on the road in support of Feel It Break. The six-date outing includes one Canadian date on Saturday (February 12) in Vancouver. Scroll past the tracklist to see the schedule.

Feel It Break:

1. "Darken Her Horse"
2. "Lose It"
3. "The Future"
4. "Beat and the Pulse"
5. "Spellwork"
6. "The Choke"
7. "Hate Crime"
8. "The Villain"
9. "Shoot the Water"
10. "The Noise"
11. "The Beast"

Tour dates:

2/12 Vancouver, BC - Goody
2/16 Portland, OR - Nightclubbing at Holocene
2/18 San Francisco, CA - Milk Bart
2/19 Los Angeles, CA - Echoplex
2/25 New York, NY - Santos Downstairs
2/26 Brooklyn, NY - Glasslands

AUSTRA "Beat and the Pulse"
Uploaded by domino. - See the latest featured music videos.