The June Brides' Phil Wilson Returns with New Solo Album

The June Brides' Phil Wilson Returns with New Solo Album
British songwriter Phil Wilson is best known for founding the much-loved indie pop group the June Brides in 1983. The band only existed for three years, but in that time they dropped four singles and an album, and went on high-profile tours with the likes of the Smiths, the Go-Betweens, the Jesus and Mary Chain and more. And while that all happened decades ago, this November Wilson will release his first solo album, God Bless Jim Kennedy.

This isn't the first time Wilson has issued solo material. After the June Brides' demise, he released a handful of solo singles in 1987 before taking a 20 year break. Then, in 2007 he released an album of covers, taking on work by Throbbing Gristle, Kraftwerk and many others. Now, with God Bless Jim Kennedy, he's picked up where he left off, even recruiting former June Brides bandmates Jon Hunter and Frank Sweeney to help out.

A press release describes God Bless Jim Kennedy as "a tour de force of smart, punk-infused power-pop, wherein he picks up right where he left off, writing clever tunes that are simultaneously rocking and tender, tough-minded and honest but not immune to a dash of sentimentality."

God Bless Jim Kennedy will be available on November 9 from Slumberland Records. It will be released on vinyl, CD and as a digital download. Studio recordings of "Pop Song #32" and "The Sum Of" can be streamed at Wilson's MySpace here.

God Bless Jim Kennedy:

1. "Three Days"
2. "Found A Friend"
3. "God Bless Jim Kennedy"
4. "Up To London"
5. "Always In Trouble"
6. "The Sum Of"
7. "Pop Song #32"
8. "Give Me Consolation"
9. "Small Town"
10. "I Own It"