John Maus to Drop 'A Collection of Rarities and Previously Unreleased Material'

John Maus to Drop 'A Collection of Rarities and Previously Unreleased Material'
Lo-fi electro-pop auteur John Maus may know his way around a solid synth and bass groove, but when it comes to album titles, sometimes the dude's not as visionary. His follow-up to 2011's creatively named We Must Become the Pitiless Censors of Ourselves will be called A Collection of Rarities and Previously Unreleased Material, and, well, you can guess what kind of material will pop up on the release.

The collection arrives July 17 through Ribbon Music and will place previously heard material alongside some newly unearthed gems. New jams include "Angel of the Night" and "Lost," while many tracks, such as "This is the Beat," "Castles in the Grave," "Bennington" and "My Hatred is Magnificent," have already been released.

Most recently, "No Title (Molly)" was featured on the Smugglers Way flexi-disc compilation that was released on Record Store Day.

The rest of the disc is made up of demos previously released online as Demos 2011, but Maus decided to keep some of those songs off the new physical presentation for obvious reasons.

"Some of the songs are in fact just that -- DEMOS. Better left 'unreleased,'" he said in a statement.

At the bottom of the page, you'll find the tracklisting and a stream his 2004 number "Mental Breakdown."

Maus will also be out on the road for a few sporadic dates this summer, including a stop at Toronto's NXNE. You can see the schedule below.

A Collection of Rarities and Previously Unreleased Material:

1. North Star (2008)

2. The Law (2003)

3. Castles in the Grave (2010)

4. Angel of the Night (2010)

5. Mental Breakdown (2004)

6. Bennington (2007)

7. Big Dumb Man (2003)

8. No Title (Molly) (2008)

9. Lost (2003)

10. All Aboard (2007)

11. This is The Beat (2005)

12. My Hatred is Magnificent (2008)

13. The Fear (2003)

14. Fish With Broken Dreams (1999)

15. Rock the Bone (2008)

16. I Don't Eat Human Beings (2008)

Tour dates:

6/15 Toronto, ON - Lee's Palace (NXNE)
7/12 New York, NY - Pier 84 (River Rocks Series) *
7/20-22 Seattle, WA - Capitol Hill Block Party
8/9 Oslo, Norway - Oya Festival
8/10 Gothenburg, Sweden - Way Out West Festival

* with Dan Deacon