Mondo Reveals Details for Deluxe Vinyl Reissue of John Carpenter's 'Halloween'

Mondo Reveals Details for Deluxe Vinyl Reissue of John Carpenter's 'Halloween'
With Halloween right around the corner, the timing couldn't be better for John Carpenter's 1978 slasher classic Halloween to get a deluxe reissue. Fittingly enough, this expanded vinyl release will be out on October 31 through esteemed soundtrack hub Mondo, which recently hinted at the reissue but has now shared all the details.

The original vinyl pressing of this soundtrack contained just 11 cuts, while a 1998 CD reissue expanded that number to 28. This latest reissue marks the first time the full 28-track album has been available on vinyl.

It's pressed on two 180-gram records, which run at 45 rpm. Most of the records are black, but in true Mondo fashion, orange copies have been randomly inserted into select copies. The soundtrack is housed in a gatefold sleeve; that's the cover artwork above.

In addition to the soundtrack, Mondo will be releasing a couple of extremely cool-looking slipmats featuring Halloween artwork. These will look particularly awesome on your turntable at this time of year. Scroll past the tracklist (which comes via GQ) to see the slipmats.

Carpenter wrote the music for Halloween himself and received help from composer Dan Wyman.


1. Halloween Theme
2. Halloween 1963
3. The Evil Is Gone!
4. Halloween 1978
5. The Boogie Man Is Coming
6. The Shape
7. The Hedge
8. He Came Home
9. Trick or Treat
10. The Haunted House
11. The Devil's Eyes
12. The Boogie Man Is Outside
13. Damn You for Letting Him Go!
14. Empty Street
15. See Anything You Like?
16. Lock the Door
17. He's Here?
18. Light's Out
19. Cut It Out
20. Tombstone
21. The Shape Stalks Laurie
22. Turn Around
23. Unlock the Door
24. The Hanger
25. Call the Police
26. Last Assault
27. Was It the Boogie Man?
28. End Credits: Halloween Theme-Reprise