John Carpenter's 'The Fog' Gets the Reissue Treatment via Death Waltz

John Carpenter's 'The Fog' Gets the Reissue Treatment via Death Waltz
While UK soundtrack hub Death Waltz Recording Company has an assortment of goodies dropping this Record Store Day (April 20), another release on the label's horizon is a repress of John Carpenter's score for The Fog. A press release confirms the deluxe vinyl reissue is set to go on sale June 10.

The director/composer's score for the supernatural coastal-town ghost story was done by Carpenter himself, as is often the case with his films (think the chilly, familiar piano/synth twinkle of Halloween, for instance). The double-LP set will feature the score, originally released on vinyl in 1984, on one platter, while a bonus record contains two entire sides of newly discovered and remastered movie cues.

This will be the first time the cues appear on vinyl, though they were also released on a deluxe CD edition via Silver Screen Music last year. You can sample a bit of the spooky soundscape down below.

Like other Death Waltz releases, the tweaked-up edition of the Fog will feature newly commissioned artwork, as done by Dinos Chapman, though an image won't be revealed until a UK launch party on June 7. You can learn more about the event over here.

The release will also be pressed on 180-gram vinyl and features liner notes by Carpenter, Chapman and Randall D. Larson.

The product description reads: "An edition of 1,000, the record is heavy weight 180g coloured vinyl packed to black polylined inner sleeves and featuring a heavyweight casebound (Tip on) full colour gatefold sleeve with matt lamination, including an art card of the cover image on 140gsm uncoated offset paper. all housed in a screenprinted plastic overbag featuring exclusive new cover art by Dinos Chapman."

As for other upcoming Death Waltz releases, the label is set to release soundtracks of House By the Cemetery, Maniac, Room 237 and some classic scores from Hammer Films.

The Fog:

Side A:

1. Prologue 

2. Theme From The Fog
3. Mathew Ghost Story 

4. Walk To The Lighthouse 

5. Brocks A Drake's Bay 

6. The Fog 

7. Antonio Bay

Side B:

8. Tommy Tells Of Ghost Ships 

9. Reel 9 

10. Main Theme (Reprise)
11. The Fog Rolls In 

12. Blake In The Sanctuary 

13. Finale

Side C:

14. Ghost Story 

15. The Journal

16. Seagrass Attack
17. Andy On The Beach

18. Where's The Seagrass

19. Stevie's Lighthouse

20. Something To Show You

21. An Evil Plan

22. Weatherman

23. Walk To The Lighthouse

24. Dane

Side D:

25. Morgue 

26. The Fog Approaches
27. Knock At The Door 

28. Fog Reflection 

29. Andy's In Trouble 

30. The Fog Enters Town 

31. Revenge

32. Number 6

33. The Fog End Credits