John Carpenter Brings 'Lost Themes Remixed' to Vinyl

John Carpenter Brings 'Lost Themes Remixed' to Vinyl
In addition to John Carpenter's in-the-works follow-up to Lost Themes, fans of the famous film composer can look forward to a fleshed-out remixes collection of the latter that features tracks from the likes of Prurient and Zola Jesus.

Lost Themes Remixed arrives on vinyl October 16 via Sacred Bones. It collects six previously released remixes that were packaged in a digital version of Lost Themes earlier this year, but brings them to wax for the first time. This includes work from Zola Jesus, Foetus' JG Thirwell, Skinny Puppy's ohGr, and Blanck Mass.

The physical edition of Lost Themes Remixes also adds a pair of previously unheard redo's from Uniform and prolific noisesmith Prurient (a.k.a. Dominick Fernow). The latter put his fingers on "Purgatory," which you can hear down below.

"John Carpenter is the master of sustained tension with electronic music," Fernow said in a statement. "The fine line between stasis and energy is almost impossible to define but Carpenter consistently achieves this paradox with Spartan means. This remix attempts to break the compositional tension of Carpenter's "Purgatory" and through a process of colliding loop cycles – a technique used on the Pleasure Ground album (by Prurient) reformatting the electronics into a earth like texture outside of the urban environments traditionally connected to synthesis."

Along with Prurient's remix, you'll find the full tracklisting info for Lost Themes Remixed below.

As for Carpenter's next step, he recently revealed plans for "a second album," as well as the possibility for some tour dates in 2016.

Lost Themes Remixed:

1. Purgatory (Prurient Remix)
2. Night (Zola Jesus & Dean Hurley Remix)
3. Wraith (ohGr Remix)
4. Vortex (Silent Servant Remix)
5. Vortex (Uniform Remix)
6. Fallen (Blanck Mass Remix)
7. Abyss (JG Thirlwell Remix)
8. Fallen (Bill Kouligas Remix)