Jimi Hendrix Honoured with More Reissues and 8-LP Box Set

Jimi Hendrix Honoured with More Reissues and 8-LP Box Set
Now that Jimi Hendrix fans have had the better part of a year to digest last fall's West Coast Seattle Boy box set, the guitar god's estate is rolling out the latest wave of releases in its Jimi Hendrix Catalog Project. On September 13, Legacy will issue four new Hendrix live releases, one of them a whopping eight-LP vinyl box.

The vinyl box is called Winterland, and it's also available a four-CD set or a single-disc Winterland Highlights CD. It's drawn from six shows that took place during three days at San Francisco's Winterland Ballroom on October 10, 11 and 12 of 1968.

It has 35 songs -- far more than the 11-song version released in 1987 -- and includes covers of Cream's "Sunshine of Your Love," Howlin' Wolf's "Killing Floor" and Bob Dylan's "Like a Rolling Stone." The deluxe edition comes with a 36-page booklet and an audio interview. See the tracklist at the bottom of this page.

Also on September 13, Legacy will drop Hendrix in the West, a live compilation that draws on the years 1969-1970. Originally released in 1972, this new version includes five extra tracks. It will be available on CD or double-LP, and the tracklist is below.

There's also Blue Wild Angel: Jimi Hendrix at the Isle of Wight, a DVD that documents a 1970 concert. Originally released in 2002, this expanded reissue runs over 180 minutes and allows viewers to select camera angles for some songs.

Last up is The Dick Cavett Show, which collects all of Jimi's appearances on the talk show. This 90-minute feature includes interviews and performances.

Ahead of these releases, the version of "Like a Rolling Stone" from Winterland will be released on seven-inch and CD single on August 23. The B-side is a live version of "Purple Haze" that's otherwise unavailable on these releases.

See MusicStack for even more information.


CD 1 - 10/10/68:

1. "Tax Free"

2. "Lover Man"

3. "Sunshine of Your Love"

4. "Hear My Train a Comin'"

5. "Killing Floor"

6. "Foxey Lady"

7. "Hey Joe"

8. "Star Spangled Banner"

9. "Purple Haze"

CD 2 - 10/11/68:

1. "Tax Free"

2. "Like a Rolling Stone"

3. "Lover Man"

4. "Hey Joe"

5. "Fire"

6. "Foxey Lady"

7. "Are You Experienced"

8. "Red House"

9. "Purple Haze"

CD 3 - 10/12/68:

1. "Fire"

2. "Lover Man"

3. "Like a Rolling Stone"

4. "Manic Depression"

5. "Sunshine of Your Love"

6. "Little Wing"

7. "Spanish Castle Magic"

8. "Red House"

9. "Hey Joe"

10. "Purple Haze"

11. "Wild Thing"

CD 4 - bonus:

1. "Foxy Lady"

2. "Are You Experienced"

3. "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)"

4. "Red House"

5. "Star Spangled Banner"

6. "Purple Haze"

7. Boston Garden Backstage Interview

Hendrix in the West:

1. "The Queen"
2. "Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band"
3. "Little Wing"
4. "Fire"
5. "I Don't Live Today"
6. "Spanish Castle Magic"
7. "Red House"
8. "Johnny B. Goode"
9. "Lover Man"
10. "Blue Suede Shoes"
11. "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)"